The Annual Revolt Summer Surf Series kicks off with Smith Optics ‘GRUDGE MATCH’ format for Pro Am Division.

Doug Van Mierlo takes home 1000.00 & racks up some points for the season opener
The first event of four took place last Saturday at PB Drive and saw record sign-ups in Pro Am & SUP Surf divisions. The Grudge Match format used with this year’s Pro Am, actually allows the athletes to call out their opponents and surf against them thru out the day. Surfing against your best friend or arch rival made for some exciting competition and interesting strategy in the fun 3-4 foot surf. The 108 competitors battled the entire day, with heats running continually from 8am until roughly 7pm. The event attracted many thousands of people to the large setup and displays from the official RSSS sponsors including Red Bull, Smith Optics, Split & Dedicated Ride Co.Stand Up Paddle companies like Kings Paddlesports, Riviera Paddlesurf, OEX of Pt. Loma and Art In Surf attracted a large crowd supporting the SUP divisions.

Red bull athlete and #1 ranked Carissa Moore attended the event and cheered on her little sister in the Women’s Pro Am. She signed autographs, free surfed and gathered together some of the young ladies for an inspirational Q & A session. Other stand out attendees included Sean Poynter (#2 Ranked SUP Surf world champ) Brett Swain (Seattle Seahawks Wide Receiver & Superbowl Champ) & Returning RSSS Champions Brandon Roberts and Michele Flores.The finals were held in fun 3-5 foot waves and saw the spectators on their feet cheering throughout all divisions. The Groms & Juniors were on fire and spectators were left shaking their heads in wonder at the high level of competition from these young competitors. Standout performances from Grom winner Jackson Bunch & Junior winner Kei Kabayashi. Women’s Pro Am winner was Alexa Dilley and Maya Saulino won the Junior Women’s. Sean Poynter took home first in the Men’s Pro Am SUP Surf. Peter Shoemaker took home a first place in the Jr. Sup Surf Finals. All in all a fantastic event for the RSSS not only for the competitors but for the spectators as well.

Beautiful custom trophies created by our good friends at STRGHT Skateboards were held high during the award ceremony. A total of $2700.00 was awarded to top Pro riders and the sponsor swag overflowed the legendary RSSS swag bags for top competitors in all divisions.

1st – Doug Van Mierlo – $1000.00
2nd – Bruce Mackie – $500.00
3rd – Trevor Thorton – $350.00
4th – Taylor Dodge – $150.00
5th – Joel Peek – $100.00
6th – Colin Richardson – $100.00
1st – Kei Kabayashi
2nd – Danny Edghill
3rd – Matt Beres
1st – Jackson Bunch
2nd – Tanner Ford
3rd – Zach McCormick
Men’s SUP Surf
1st – Sean Poynter – $500.00
2nd – Chuck Glynn
3rd – Daniel Hughes
Jr SUP Surf
1st – Peter Shoemaker
2nd – Ryan Maloney
3rd – Graydon Church
1st – Alexa Dilly
2nd – Avalon Johnson
3rd – Dhelby Detmers
Jr Woman’s
1st – Maya Saulino
2nd – Sidney Johnson
3rd – Hannah Blevins
Thanks to all our Sponsors:

For more info go to and visit our Facebook page at for image galleries.